

Minutes of the Board of Directors Annual Meeting October 7, 2021 9:15AM Via Zoom

<u>Present:</u> Gregory Davis, *chair*, Phyllis Shikora, *vice-chair*, Rick Costello, *treasurer*, Ana Alfaro, *secretary*, David Barrett, Andréa Comer, Andrew Diaz-Matos, Floyd W. Green III, Steve Harris, Suzanne Hopgood, Sara Lashetski, Antonio Matta, Sarah Needham, and Karen Taylor.

Also Present: Bridget E. Quinn, president and CEO; Leticia Cotto, customer experience officer; Marie Jarry, director of Public Services; Brenda Miller, executive director, Culture and Communications; Homa Naficy, executive director, the American Place; Diana Smith, director of Human Services; Gilda Roncari, donor relations director; Mary Tzambazakis, Chief Administrative Office, and Karl Fisher, finance director.

1. Call to Order

Chair Greg Davis called the meeting to order at 9:15 a.m.

Board Action: A motion was made by Floyd Green to approve the minutes of the October 10, 2019 annual meeting. Andrea Comer seconded. The motion passed unanimously. Suzanne Hopgood and Sarah Needham abstained.

Ms. Bridget Quinn briefly reported on the annual report. It was a tough year because of covid, but the report shows many accomplishments throughout the year.

Mr. Davis briefly reported that he has had a privilege to serve on the HPL Board. Thanked all board members for allowing him to serve as Chair. HPL is truly a place like no other and would not be where it is without the leadership of Bridget Quinn. His highlights over the past several years:

- Uconn Partnership
- Transition of new CEO
- Attending quarterly staff meeting and getting to know staff
- Securing the funding of the Park Street Library project
- Strategic Planning in 2017
- Watching leadership team with a fast pitch for the Digital Learning Lab
- Process of Barbour Branch into the Swift Factory
- Commitment to Diversity
- Great relationship with Mayor and Council

2. Other Business

Greg Davis presented the following Slate of Officers as recommended:

David Barrett, Chair Phyllis Shikora, Vice Chair Rick Costello, Treasurer Ana Alfaro, Secretary

Board Action: A motion was made by Steve Harris to approve the recommended slate of officers. Dan O'Shea seconded. Motion carried. David Barrett abstained.

The Committee List was sent in advance. David Barrett thanked Karen Taylor for volunteering to join the Barbour Task Force Committee.

Board Action: A motion was made by Steve Harris to approve the recommended Committee Assignments. Suzanne Hopgood seconded. Motion carried.

The following Board of Directors were elected for a 4-year term:

David Barrett Andrea Comer Steve Harris Antonio Matta

Board Action: A motion was made by Suzanne Hopgood to approve the recommended board members to a 4-year term. Phyllis Shikora seconded. Motion carried.

With no other business, Greg Davis moved to adjourn the meeting; Steve Harris seconded. The meeting adjourned at 9:34AM.

Respectfully submitted, Bridget E. Quinn President and CEO